News pages

Photo of The 15,000th and 15,001st delegates from Russia with Dr. Billington and Ambassador O'Keefe.
Our 2011 Annual Report is out (PDF): Georgian Judges experience Minnesota: Parker, CO welcomes group from far reaches of Siberia: A sound-check and a ghost lamp, Durham, NC Open World News Vol. 4 Issue 7 – Meet the Young Professionals! (PDF): Our 15,000th and 15,001st delegates from Russia were interviewed by the Voice of America (video, in Russian):
Representative Renee Elmers with parliamentarians from Moldova in North Carolina.
Ever since the first Open World participants arrived in the United States in mid-1999, accountability has been one of the core principles that our exchanges seek to illuminate. Americans take it for granted that the public, private, and nonprofit sectors should be accountable to citizens, consumers, and clients. Yet such an expectation is foreign to so many of our participants because of the political and civic culture they inherited. But without accountability, the rule of law, civil society, and democracy cannot flourish.
Photo of Alina Turcanu
Adapted from the original Romanian: Turcanu was hosted in Kalamazoo, MI by Colleagues International from September 21 - 29, 2012. I have a dream. My American dream, as they say. I want to grow old overseas, somewhere in California. Or, perhaps, further up north, in Michigan, on the shore of one of the Great Lakes, in a quiet locality with a strange name, Kalamazoo.
Photo of Anastasia Glukhova
The Open World Leadership Center, a Congressional agency working to increase U.S.-Eurasian understanding and partnerships, will welcome its 15,000th participant from Russia on October 3. In celebration of this milestone, Open World will honor both the 15,000th and 15,001st delegates in a ceremony on October 4, 2012. The delegates are part of a large group of alumni from the Moscow School of Political Studies that will be hosted in Chicago, IL from October 7 – 13th by Open World’s host and grantee Supporters of Civil Society in Russia, Inc. The honorees are: